Finalizing Logistics, Raising Funds!

Thank you to all the generous donors who have pushed the support for my climate journey above $900! That’s nearly half the cost of my ticket to France next week, and a significant chunk of the overall cost. THANK YOU! It is heartwarming to find so many climate-caring citizens out there willing to lend a hand.

I have purchased my tickets to Lyon, so I’m fully committed to the conference. I have also confirmed a CouchSurfing host, so I’ll have a free place to stay– keeping costs low.

Yesterday I met with Grant Ervin (Sustainability Manager for Pgh) and Ariel Lattanzi (SCA Green Cities Sustainability Fellow) down at the Mayor’s office to discuss messaging, goals, and logistics. My head is full and I have lots of homework to dig through, but I’ve never been more energized by such work. We have an incredibly bright team of thoughtful, dedicated public servants here in Pittsburgh. It has been a pleasure to work with them.

Finally, I checked with the Summit staff about whether I’ll be able to bring my recording gear into the conference next week and they told me that I would *not* be able to do it. That means I’ll still bring the gear to France but will only record when I’m not actually *in* the conference. I’m attending as a delegate and not as official press, so this is understandable. I’ll keep trying to gain official media rights, but they’re pretty formal about it so my options may be limited on that front. That said, I’ll be taking copious notes while attending the formal events and will be eager to share a condensation of that information with you all as soon as I’m able.

Thank you again for your support! I’ll continue to keep you posted as things continue to develop.

Peace,
Mark

Leave a Reply

