Getting my thoughts together on COP21

I’ve been sifting through countless articles while wrapping up my trip to Paris, and I’m sorry I don’t have more details to share with you sooner. That said, please keep up with my posts on Facebook and Flipboard (see the resources page of this site for Flipboard, and the right column on this page for Facebook). And as I prepare to board my flight home, I do have some initial reflections. Not final by any means, but a start to the digestion process… 

The COP21 agreement is clearly insufficient. And there are disconnects in various portions of the agreement. Huge gaps that all of civilization could fall through. But more than words took place at this monumental gathering. It was the greatest assemblage of world leaders in world history. It comprises the greatest pulse of human energy ever directed towards the 1.5C goal. It lit a fire under portions of the global media suddenly reporting on 1.5C. Now we will have a mainstream pathway to begin to discuss this moonshot goal. Perhaps we can finally now tap into and then harness the distributed genius of creative and motivated minds around the world to embark upon the magnitude of problem-solving required by our climate predicament. Perhaps now the task of highlighting pitfalls and opportunities in our moral landscape will no longer fall solely on the shoulders of volunteers, grassroots activists, and a handful of tenured college professors. Perhaps now it will be shouldered by the civilizational infrastructure that has, until this day, been hell bent on liquidating nature to benefit a minority of global citizens. The skeptic in me says it’ll never happen, but I also recognize that if it ever were possible, it would require a parade of world leaders the likes of which we have never seen. That happened. I would say that global mainstream media would need to actively grapple with the “rock and a hard place” nature of our climate challenge. That happened and continues daily. I would say that we would need to see ordinary people choose to stick themselves into the gears of the fossil fueled status quo machine. That has started to happen, and much more is slated for 2016. 

There is so much to discuss. I’m sorting through the details. Thank you for your patience.

   
 

2 thoughts on “Getting my thoughts together on COP21

  1. David Mog

    Hi Mark – From what I’ve gleaned over 73 years, I think your observations on the significance of the event have it right. The product has to be imperfect but the process is the only one we have in an emerging global consciousness. Things are moving in the right direction. The media and leaders are paying attention. Innovators and investors can see the hand-writing writ large. Most importantly, the younger generation that I interact with knows that “business as usual” is unacceptable and they are eager to support alternative.

    Safe journey home,

    David

    Like

  2. Valerie Dixon

    Dear Mark,We are thinking of you today as you travel home, as we have every day of your Paris trip.   We have so appreciated all of your email notes and videos.  We now truly look forward to your reflections on the whole experience once you have time to step back, breathe and rest a bit.  Christie will be so glad to see you, and we will be so happy to see you both here in Niantic.  Sending much love,Mom and Dad From: markatcop21 To: valeriedixon1@yahoo.com Sent: Wednesday, December 16, 2015 6:01 AM Subject: [New post] Getting my thoughts together on COP21 #yiv7073064173 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv7073064173 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv7073064173 a.yiv7073064173primaryactionlink:link, #yiv7073064173 a.yiv7073064173primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv7073064173 a.yiv7073064173primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv7073064173 a.yiv7073064173primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv7073064173 WordPress.com | Mark Dixon posted: “I’ve been sifting through countless articles while wrapping up my trip to Paris, and I’m sorry I don’t have more details to share with you sooner. That said, please keep up with my posts on Facebook and Flipboard (see the resources page of this site for F” | |

    Like

Leave a Reply

